enter your email address and we'll send you your shopping cart:

Item Added to Cart

You have not viewed any products recently.


Gluten Free Candy

Gluten Free Candy
Certified-Gluten-Free-Logo-72-dpi-R-1Look for the gluten free certification symbol on a product page to determine if a certain candy makes that claim.
In August of 2013, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) issued a regulation that defined the term "gluten-free" for food labeling. The definition provided consumers – especially those with celiac disease – the assurance that "gluten-free" claims on food products will be consistent and reliable across the food industry, and gave them a standardized tool for managing their health and dietary intake.
FDA’s Regulation of Gluten-Free Claims

FDA’s regulation for gluten-free food labeling standardized what "gluten-free" means on the food label. "Gluten-free" is a voluntary claim that manufacturers may elect to use in the labeling of their foods. However, manufacturers that label their foods "gluten-free" are accountable for using the claim in a truthful and not misleading manner, and for complying with all requirements established by the regulation and enforced by FDA.
Gluten Free Terms

Gluten-free foods may be labeled in a variety of ways:
"Free of gluten"
"No gluten"
"Without gluten"
The FDA regulation applies to these four variations.
Inside the Regulation

FDA established, among other criteria, a gluten limit of less than 20 parts per million (ppm) for foods that carry the label "gluten-free," "no gluten," "free of gluten," or "without gluten." This level is the lowest that can be reliably detected in foods using scientifically validated analytical methods. Other countries and international bodies use these same criteria, as most people with celiac disease can tolerate foods with very small amounts of gluten.
Before the regulation was issued in 2013, there were no U.S. standards or definitions for the food industry to use in labeling products as "gluten-free." This left many consumers, especially those with a health concern, unsure of a food’s gluten content.

What is Gluten?

Gluten is the protein that occurs naturally in wheat, rye, barley, and crossbreeds of these grains. Foods that typically contain gluten include breads, cakes, cereals, pastas, and many other foods.
Gluten is the substance that gives breads and other grain products their shape, strength, and texture. But for the estimated 3 million Americans suffering from celiac disease, an auto-immune digestive disorder, consuming gluten can have serious health consequences.

Grains: A Closer Look

Certain grains are especially likely to contain naturally occurring gluten. However, these grains can be made gluten-free, including:
Crossbred hybrids like triticale
An ingredient that has been derived from a gluten-containing grain can be labeled as "gluten-free" if it has been processed to remove gluten and use of that ingredient results in the presence of less than 20 ppm of gluten in the food.

Candy That Can Be Labeled As "Gluten-Free"

Whether a food is manufactured to be free of gluten or by nature is free of gluten, it may bear a "gluten-free" labeling claim if it meets all FDA requirements for a gluten-free food. Some foods and beverages, such as bottled spring water, fruits, vegetables, and eggs, are naturally gluten-free. However, because a "gluten-free" claim isn’t required to be on a food package, it may not appear even if the food is, in fact, gluten-free.
DISCLAIMER: CandyWarehouse.com is not a candy manufacturer and is not responsible for the gluten-free packaging or labeling of products (which is handled by hundreds of our manufacturing partners). NO REFUNDS OR RETURNS.
Chupa Chups Lolllipops
Famous Amos
Haribo Gummy
Hershey's Kisses
jolly rancher candy
PEZ Candy
Sour Patch Candy
Starburst Candy
Swedish Fish Candy
Tootsie Roll Industries
Twizzlers Candy